MozillaZine

Browser.bookmarks.restore default bookmarks

From MozillaZine Knowledge Base

Contents

Background

When Mozilla Firefox is started in Safe Mode, a dialog appears with options to reset various user data for the browser — including bookmarks. When that option is picked, this preference is toggled to true, and when the browser starts the default bookmarks are copied over the user’s current bookmarks file.

Possible values and their effects

True

When the browser starts in Safe Mode, copy the default bookmarks.html file from the profile defaults directory into the current profile.

False

Do not reset bookmarks to their defaults. (Default)

UI

When starting in Safe Mode, the checkbox labeled “Reset bookmarks to Firefox defaults” sets this preference to true.

First checked in

2005-08-12 by Mike Connor

Has an effect in

  • Mozilla Firefox (all versions since 1.5)

Related bugs

See also